

. About The ACT-SO Program

The NAACP's **Afro-Academic, Cultural, Technological and Scientific Olympics (ACT-SO)** is a yearlong achievement program designed to recruit, stimulate, and encourage high academic and cultural achievement among African-American high school students. For over forty years the mission of ACT-SO has been to prepare, recognize and reward students who exemplify scholastic and artistic excellence. ACT-SO was founded in 1978 by well-known African-American journalist Vernon Jarrett.

ACT-SO includes 32 competition areas in STEM, humanities, business, and performing, visual and culinary arts. Nearly 300,000 youth from more than 200 communities have participated from the program since its inception.

The goals of ACT-SO are:

- To mobilize the adult community for the promotion of academic and artistic excellence.
- To recognize creative talent and academic achievement.
- To provide and assist students with the necessary skills to establish goals and acquire the confidence and training to make a successful contribution to society.

The NAACP Saginaw Branch has a long and accomplished history of participation in the ACT-SO program. Local students have earned more than 40 national medal honors since 1988.



John Pugh, Chair NAACP Saginaw Branch ACT-SO Program

Special tribute and acknowledgement are extended to John Pugh, who has served as the Chair and leader of the NAACP Saginaw ACT-SO program for thirty-one years. Mr. Pugh's support and commitment to the success of Saginaw area youth is well documented and widely acknowledged. He has spent three decades encouraging, developing and promoting ACT-SO participants. We also acknowledge the many years of dedicated support to the local ACT-SO program by Canika Owen-Robinson, who has served as Co-Chair of ACT-SO for nearly twenty years.

More Information contact: John Pugh <u>Ypugh914@aol.com</u> or Canika Owen Robinson at <u>cpowenrobinson@aol.com</u>.

The roster of Saginaw's ACT-SO winners has been consistently impressive. Local national medalists include:

- 1988 Khary Bridgewater Gold, Energy
- 1990 Khary Bridgewater Gold, Physics: Energy
- 1991 Khary Bridgewater Gold, Physics: Energy
- 1992 Akira C. Shelton Bronze, Music: Instrumental Contemporary Jason Williams – Silver, Original Essay
- 1997 Eleluhue Crudup Gold, Playwriting
- 1998 Hubert Alexander Bronze, Physics: Energy Eleluhue Crudup Silver, Playwriting
- 2001 Ryan McBride Bronze, Playwriting
- 2002 Ryan McBride Gold, Playwriting
- 2003 Ryan McBride Silver, Playwriting
- 2004 Shaneditha Butler Gold, Architecture Quintisha Walker Silver, Microbiology
- **2005** Quintisha Walker Gold, Microbiology David McMillon Gold, Engineering
- Quintisha Walker Gold, Microbiology
 David McMillon Gold, Engineering
 Morgan McMillon Gold, Music Instrumental Classical
 Jessica Reedy Gold, Music Vocal Contemporary
- 2007 Alexandrya Bardell Bonze, Microbiology David McMillion – Gold, Earth & Space Sciences Christian Robinson – Gold, Engineering Morgan McMillion – Bronze, Music Instrumental Classical
- 2008 David McMillion Silver, Earth & Space Sciences Christian Robinson – Gold, Engineering David McMillion – Silver, Mathematics Nolan Ford – Gold, Medicine and Health
- 2009 Erica Trigg Gold, Earth & Space Sciences
- 2010 Jordan Drake Bronze, Chemistry
 DMontae Jones Gold, Engineering
 DMontae Jones Silver Music: Composition
 Sharnae Ruth Gold, Vocal Music Contemporary
- 2011 Savonna Brown Gold, Poetry Jordan Drake – Silver Engineering Alliecia Butler – Silver Entrepreneurship Jamal Yearwood – Silver, Microbiology
- 2012 Andrea Pugh Gold, Earth & Space Sciences Lauren Ingram – Silver, Mathematics Jordan Drake – Bronze, Music: Instrumental Classical
- 2013 Tyrek Brown Gold, Physics
- 2014 Tyrek Brown Silver, Computer Science Tyrek Brown – Bronze, Physics
- 2015 Tyrek Brown Computer Science
- 2016 Cameron Terry Gold, Computer Science

\$8,000 donation from AT&T to culturally stimulate ACT-SO students

Posted Feb 21, 2018: mlive/Saginaw



Saginaw NAACP ACT-SO Chair, John Pugh joins is pictured with 2018 National ACT-SO Competitors held in San Antonio, Texas. The group received major support from AT&T to assist their effort.